Cities For Immigration Action Sign On To Brief In Texas vs. United States Appeal;

Urging Immediate Implementation of President Obama’s Immigration Reforms Today’s Brief More Than Doubles the Number Of Local Governments Supporting Immigration Action 73 Cities & Counties Signed On From 27 States, Representing 43 Million People Nationwide

CENTRAL FALLS — As part of Cities United for Immigration Action, Mayor James Diossa announced today that Central Falls joined 73 cities and counties to file a new friend-of-the-court brief in the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals in the Texas vs. United States lawsuit, urging immediate implementation of President Obama’s executive actions on immigration.

The brief (link here on Central Falls Law Department website) demonstrates robust support from the country’s largest cities – as well as its suburbs and rural areas – for the President’s reforms, which will provide temporary relief from deportation to immigrants with longstanding ties to the U.S. who pass a background check and meet other criteria.

The cities and counties – representing 43 million people across the country – argue that the district court judge who temporarily blocked implementation of the programs failed to consider the significant harms to America’s local governments caused by this delay.

Today’s brief more than doubles the number of local governments that had previously voiced opposition to the lawsuit brought by states seeking to block President Obama’s immigration reform efforts.


"I continue to stand with President Barack Obama in trying to make the American Dream a reality for million of hard-working immigrants in the United States," said Mayor Diossa.  "There are too many workers, too many young people and too many families whose dreams continue to be deferred by our federal government's lack of action on immigration reform.  President Obama's executive actions were a great step forward and I hope the Court's support his actions."

As part of Cities United for Immigration Action, New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio and Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti led the effort to organize more than 70 cities and counties, the National League of Cities, and the U.S. Conference of Mayors in arguing that the national public interest is served clearly and overwhelmingly by implementing immigration relief by executive action without delay.

“Continuing to delay implementation of the President’s executive action on immigration hurts our economy and puts families at risk,” said New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio. “Cities are where immigrants live, and cities are where the President’s executive action will be successfully implemented. Our cities are united, and we will fight for the immigration reform this nation needs and deserves - whether in the courtroom, in Congress, or in our communities. Make no mistake about it: our voices will be heard.”’

"We are steadfast on a concrete immigration policy that will keep families intact and the country's economic prosperity on the rise," said Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti, who established a Mayor’s Office of Immigrant Affairs. "This is a nonpartisan issue that should focus on people and not politics."

Cities and counties signed on to today’s brief (in formation), include the following local governments. Numerous cities and counties are located in states that brought the lawsuit against the Obama administration or have otherwise indicated support for the lawsuit, including at least 3 cities and counties in Texas, 6 localities in New Jersey, 2 counties in Arizona, 3 municipalities in Wisconsin: Allentown, PA Atlanta, GA Austin, TX Baltimore, MD Bell, CA Boston, MA Bridgeport, CT Buffalo, NY Cambridge, MA Central Falls, RI Chapel Hill, NC Charleston, SC Chicago, IL Coconino County, AZ Columbia, SC Columbus, OH Dallas County, TX Dayton, OH Denver, CO Dolton, IL Everett, MA Gary, IN Haledon, NJ Hartford, CT Highland Park, IL Hoboken, NJ Holyoke, MA Houston, TX Jersey City, NJ Kansas City, MO Little Rock, AR Los Angeles, CA Los Angeles County, CA Lucas County, OH Madison, WI Milwaukee, WI Minneapolis, MN Montgomery County, MD Newark, NJ New York, NY Niagara Falls, NY North Miami, FL Oakland, CA Paterson, NJ Philadelphia, PA Pittsburgh, PA Plainfield, NJ Portland, OR Providence, RI Racine, WI Ramsey County, MN Rochester, NY Salt Lake City, UT San Francisco, CA San Jose, CA Santa Ana, CA Santa Cruz County, AZ Santa Fe, NM Santa Monica, CA Schenectady, NY Seattle, WA Skokie, IL St. Louis, MO State College, PA Syracuse, NY Tacoma, WA Tampa, FL Travis County, TX Washington, D.C. West Covina, CA Yonkers, NY National League of Cities U.S. Conference of Mayors

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.